A large, reasonably efficient stove for heating a whole small house or big shop on long firewood. Have it installed to the manual and local code.
Amazon $1,149The Comfort Glow CGWS2500 is the better stove overall, rated 3.3 to 2.8. The Comfort Glow CGWS2500 leads on efficiency, convenience and value. The Comfort Glow CGWS1500 costs $138.01 less ($1,010.99 vs $1,149).
A mid size stove for a cabin or small home up to about 1,200 sq ft that takes standard 18 in firewood. Pick a more efficient stove if you buy your wood.
Amazon $1,010.99Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Comfort Glow CGWS2500 for efficiency (72% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) vs 66% EPA tested efficiency (HHV)), convenience (takes 21 in logs, blower not stated vs takes 18 in logs, blower optional) and value ($22.77 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,149, 50,470 BTU) vs $25.48 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,010.99, 39,683 BTU)).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Comfort Glow CGWS2500 | Comfort Glow CGWS1500 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.3/5 | 2.8/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 60 72% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 30 66% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 70 $22.77 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,149, 50,470 BTU) | 62 $25.48 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,010.99, 39,683 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 12 2.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 12 2.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 11 2-year warranty | 11 2-year warranty |
| Convenience 15% | 73 takes 21 in logs, blower not stated | 50 takes 18 in logs, blower optional |
Specifications
| Comfort Glow CGWS2500 | Comfort Glow CGWS1500 | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 72% | 66% |
| Emissions | 2.4 g/h | 2.4 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 20,053 to 50,470 BTU | 13,846 to 39,683 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 112,800 BTU | 68,000 BTU |
| Heats up to | 2,500 sq ft | 1,200 sq ft |
| Catalytic | No | No |
| Blower | - | Optional |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | 2.7 cu ft | 1.3 cu ft |
| Longest log | 21 in | 18 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | Yes | Yes |
| Safety listing | UL | UL |
| Dimensions | 27 x 25.5 x 31.6 in (W x D x H) | 22.5 x 21.5 x 29.5 in (W x D x H) |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
| Released | 2024-04 | 2024-02 |
