A large, reasonably efficient stove for heating a whole small house or big shop on long firewood. Have it installed to the manual and local code.
Amazon $1,149The Comfort Glow CGWS2500 is the better stove overall, rated 3.3 to 3.2. The Comfort Glow CGWS2500 leads on value, convenience and warranty. The Woodstock Absolute Steel Hybrid wins on emissions and efficiency. The Comfort Glow CGWS2500 costs $2,891 less ($1,149 vs $4,040).
For mid size homes up to about 1,800 sq ft that want a clean burning steel hybrid with a decorative look.
Woodstock Soapstone $4,040Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Comfort Glow CGWS2500 for value ($22.77 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,149, 50,470 BTU) vs $84.17 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($4,040, 48,000 BTU)), convenience (takes 21 in logs, blower not stated vs takes 20 in logs, no blower offered) and warranty (2-year warranty vs 1-year warranty).
- Choose the Woodstock Absolute Steel Hybrid for emissions (0.5 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) vs 2.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA)) and efficiency (77% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) vs 72% EPA tested efficiency (HHV)).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Comfort Glow CGWS2500 | Woodstock Absolute Steel Hybrid |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.3/5 | 3.2/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 60 72% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 85 77% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 70 $22.77 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,149, 50,470 BTU) | 0 $84.17 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($4,040, 48,000 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 12 2.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 100 0.5 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 11 2-year warranty | 0 1-year warranty |
| Convenience 15% | 73 takes 21 in logs, blower not stated | 45 takes 20 in logs, no blower offered |
Specifications
| Comfort Glow CGWS2500 | Woodstock Absolute Steel Hybrid | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 72% | 77% |
| Emissions | 2.4 g/h | 0.5 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 20,053 to 50,470 BTU | 10,000 to 48,000 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 112,800 BTU | - |
| Heats up to | 2,500 sq ft | 1,800 sq ft |
| Catalytic | No | Yes |
| Blower | - | None offered |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | 2.7 cu ft | 2.5 cu ft |
| Longest log | 21 in | 20 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | Yes | Yes |
| Safety listing | UL | PFS (UL 1482-2011) |
| Dimensions | 27 x 25.5 x 31.6 in (W x D x H) | 30 x 27.5 x 33.25 in (W x D x H) |
| Weight | - | 490 lb |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 year |
| Released | 2024-04 | - |
