For a larger home that wants a big, classic cast iron stove that swallows long logs and burns clean.
Forge & Flame $4,819 Leisure Time $4,729The Vermont Castings Defiant is the better stove overall, rated 3.5 to 2.7. The Vermont Castings Defiant leads on efficiency, convenience and emissions. The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 costs $2,730 less ($1,999 vs $4,729).
For a small to mid size room where the owner wants the simplest possible wood stove in classic cast iron.
Forge & Flame $1,999 Leisure Time $1,999Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Vermont Castings Defiant for efficiency (77.9% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) vs 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV)), convenience (takes 25 in logs, blower optional vs takes 18 in logs, blower not stated) and emissions (1.3 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) vs 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA)).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Vermont Castings Defiant | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.5/5 | 2.7/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 90 77.9% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 55 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 0 $193.02 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($4,729, 24,500 BTU) | 0 $82.26 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,999, 24,300 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 47 1.3 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 30 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 100 10-year warranty | 50 warranty not published (neutral score used) |
| Convenience 15% | 80 takes 25 in logs, blower optional | 50 takes 18 in logs, blower not stated |
Specifications
| Vermont Castings Defiant | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 77.9% | 71% |
| Emissions | 1.3 g/h | 1.8 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 12,000 to 24,500 BTU | 24,300 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 56,000 BTU | 39,300 BTU |
| Heats up to | 2,600 sq ft | 1,200 sq ft |
| Catalytic | Yes | No |
| Blower | Optional | - |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | 3.2 cu ft | 1.2 cu ft |
| Longest log | 25 in | 18 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | - | Yes |
| Safety listing | OMNI | OMNI |
| Dimensions | 32.375 x 23.75 x 28.875 in (W x D x H) | 16 x 24.25 x 25.0625 in (W x D x H) |
| Warranty | 10 years | - |
