A tiny, efficient wood stove for a cabin, tiny house or single room. Have it installed to the manual and local code, and plan on cutting short logs.
Amazon $678.99The US Stove TH-100 is the better stove overall, rated 3.5 to 2.7. The US Stove TH-100 leads on value and efficiency. The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 wins on convenience. The US Stove TH-100 costs $1,320.01 less ($678.99 vs $1,999).
For a small to mid size room where the owner wants the simplest possible wood stove in classic cast iron.
Forge & Flame $1,999 Leisure Time $1,999Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the US Stove TH-100 for value ($26.09 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($678.99, 26,028 BTU) vs $82.26 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,999, 24,300 BTU)) and efficiency (75% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) vs 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV)).
- Choose the Vermont Castings Aspen C3 for convenience (takes 18 in logs, blower not stated vs takes 11 in logs, blower optional).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | US Stove TH-100 | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.5/5 | 2.7/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 75 75% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 55 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 60 $26.09 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($678.99, 26,028 BTU) | 0 $82.26 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,999, 24,300 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 32 1.7 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 30 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 100 limited lifetime warranty | 50 warranty not published (neutral score used) |
| Convenience 15% | 20 takes 11 in logs, blower optional | 50 takes 18 in logs, blower not stated |
Specifications
| US Stove TH-100 | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 75% | 71% |
| Emissions | 1.7 g/h | 1.8 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 10,652 to 26,028 BTU | 24,300 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 26,000 BTU | 39,300 BTU |
| Heats up to | 750 sq ft | 1,200 sq ft |
| Catalytic | No | No |
| Blower | Optional | - |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | - | 1.2 cu ft |
| Longest log | 11 in | 18 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | Yes | Yes |
| Safety listing | UL | OMNI |
| Dimensions | 16.4 x 13 x 26.75 in (W x D x H) | 16 x 24.25 x 25.0625 in (W x D x H) |
| Weight | 148 lb | - |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | - |
| Released | 2023-10-24 | - |
