For a small space such as a cabin, tiny home or single room that wants clean catalytic heat in a very narrow stove.
Leisure Time $2,399 Lehman's $2,549The Hearthstone Lincoln is the better stove overall, rated 3.3 to 2.7. The Hearthstone Lincoln leads on efficiency and emissions. The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 wins on convenience. The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 costs $400 less ($1,999 vs $2,399).
For a small to mid size room where the owner wants the simplest possible wood stove in classic cast iron.
Forge & Flame $1,999 Leisure Time $1,999Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Hearthstone Lincoln for efficiency (78.5% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) vs 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV)) and emissions (1.1 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) vs 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA)).
- Choose the Vermont Castings Aspen C3 for convenience (takes 18 in logs, blower not stated vs takes 18 in logs, no blower offered).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Hearthstone Lincoln | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.3/5 | 2.7/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 92 78.5% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 55 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 0 $116.98 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($2,399, 20,507 BTU) | 0 $82.26 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,999, 24,300 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 54 1.1 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 30 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 100 limited lifetime warranty | 50 warranty not published (neutral score used) |
| Convenience 15% | 30 takes 18 in logs, no blower offered | 50 takes 18 in logs, blower not stated |
Specifications
| Hearthstone Lincoln | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 78.5% | 71% |
| Emissions | 1.1 g/h | 1.8 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 14,545 to 20,507 BTU | 24,300 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 23,000 BTU | 39,300 BTU |
| Heats up to | 575 sq ft | 1,200 sq ft |
| Catalytic | Yes | No |
| Blower | None offered | - |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | 1 cu ft | 1.2 cu ft |
| Longest log | 18 in | 18 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | Yes | Yes |
| Safety listing | PFS | OMNI |
| Dimensions | 14 x 24.5 x 28 in (W x D x H) | 16 x 24.25 x 25.0625 in (W x D x H) |
| Weight | 250 lb | - |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | - |
