For a small to mid size room where the owner wants the simplest possible wood stove in classic cast iron.
Forge & Flame $1,999 Leisure Time $1,999The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 is the better stove overall, rated 2.7 to 2.6. The Vermont Castings Aspen C3 leads on convenience. The True North TN10 wins on emissions. The True North TN10 costs $394 less ($1,605 vs $1,999).
For a small room, cabin or shop that needs simple, clean wood heat on a tight budget.
The Torch Guys $1,605 Flame Authority $1,985.50Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Vermont Castings Aspen C3 for convenience (takes 18 in logs, blower not stated vs takes 14 in logs, blower optional).
- Choose the True North TN10 for emissions (1.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) vs 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA)).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every wood stoves stove; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Vermont Castings Aspen C3 | True North TN10 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 2.7/5 | 2.6/5 |
| Efficiency 30% | 55 71% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) | 63 72.6% EPA tested efficiency (HHV) |
| Value 30% | 0 $82.26 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,999, 24,300 BTU) | 0 $91.19 per 1,000 BTU of EPA tested output ($1,605, 17,600 BTU) |
| Emissions 15% | 30 1.8 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) | 43 1.4 g/h of smoke particles (EPA) |
| Warranty 10% | 50 warranty not published (neutral score used) | 22 3-year warranty |
| Convenience 15% | 50 takes 18 in logs, blower not stated | 20 takes 14 in logs, blower optional |
Specifications
| Vermont Castings Aspen C3 | True North TN10 | |
|---|---|---|
| EPA certification | ||
| EPA certified | Yes (2020 standard) | Yes (2020 standard) |
| Efficiency (HHV) | 71% | 72.6% |
| Emissions | 1.8 g/h | 1.4 g/h |
| Tested heat output | 24,300 BTU | 13,100 to 17,600 BTU |
| Heating | ||
| Fuel | Cord wood | Cord wood |
| Type | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Advertised output | 39,300 BTU | 30,000 BTU |
| Heats up to | 1,200 sq ft | - |
| Catalytic | No | No |
| Blower | - | Optional |
| Thermostat | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Fuel | ||
| Firebox | 1.2 cu ft | 0.8 cu ft |
| Longest log | 18 in | 14 in |
| Power needed | None | None |
| Installation | ||
| Flue size | 6 in | 6 in |
| Mobile home approved | Yes | Yes |
| Safety listing | OMNI | Intertek |
| Dimensions | 16 x 24.25 x 25.0625 in (W x D x H) | 21.375 x 18.5 x 27.75 in (W x D x H) |
| Warranty | - | 3 years |
