A well-priced 48 A smart charger with a long cable and a weatherproof box. Good for most homes with enough panel capacity.
Amazon $449The Emporia Classic EV Charger is the better level 2 EV charger overall, rated 4.7 to 4.1. The Emporia Classic EV Charger leads on smart features. The ApexCharger MACH 1 48A wins on value. The ApexCharger MACH 1 48A costs $109.67 less ($339.33 vs $449).
A flexible 48 A smart charger that suits renters who may move (plug it in) and owners who will hardwire it, with a long cable and a Tesla adapter included.
Amazon $339.33Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Emporia Classic EV Charger for smart features (app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing vs app control).
- Choose the ApexCharger MACH 1 48A for value ($339.33 vs $449).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every 48 A and up level 2 EV charger; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Emporia Classic EV Charger | ApexCharger MACH 1 48A |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 4.7/5 | 4.1/5 |
| Value 30% | 90 $449 | 100 $339.33 |
| Safety listing 15% | 100 listed: UL 2594 (E528156) | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) |
| Smart features 15% | 100 app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing | 40 app control |
| ENERGY STAR 10% | 100 ENERGY STAR certified | 100 ENERGY STAR certified |
| Weather rating 10% | 100 NEMA 4: rain, hose spray and dust | 50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used) |
| Cable 10% | 100 25 ft cable | 100 30 ft cable |
| Warranty 10% | 50 3-year warranty | 50 warranty not published (neutral score used) |
Specifications
| Emporia Classic EV Charger | ApexCharger MACH 1 48A | |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | ||
| Maximum power | 48 A (11.5 kW) | 48 A (11.5 kW) |
| Adjustable current | Yes | - |
| Vehicle plug | J1772 or Tesla (NACS) | J1772 |
| Cable length | 25 ft | 30 ft |
| Installation | Plug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50) | Plug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50) |
| Smart features | ||
| Wi-Fi | Yes | Yes |
| App | Yes | Yes |
| Off-peak scheduling | Yes | - |
| Load sharing | Yes | - |
| Safety and build | ||
| Safety listing | UL 2594 (E528156) | - |
| ENERGY STAR | Yes | Yes |
| Weather rating | NEMA 4 | - |
| Lowest operating temperature | -22 °F | - |
| Dimensions | 12.6 x 9.06 x 3.39 in | 10.35 x 6.72 x 3.15 in |
| Weight | - | 15 lb |
| Warranty | 3 years | - |
| Released | 2024-02 | 2024-09 |
