ApexCharger MACH 1 48A vs ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A

Last updated: October 31, 2026

The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A rates 4.2 among up to 40 A level 2 EV chargers; the ApexCharger MACH 1 48A rates 4.1 among 48 A and up ones. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A costs $115.11 less ($224.22 vs $339.33).

ApexCharger MACH 1 48A vs ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A

Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.

Scores side by side

These two sit in different size classes (up to 40 A and 48 A and up), and each is scored against the reference points for its own class, so a rating says how well each does among its own size peers. How we rank explains each factor.

Factor weightApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40AApexCharger MACH 1 48A
Overall rating4.2/54.1/5
Value 30%100 $224.22100 $339.33
Safety listing 15%50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used)50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used)
Smart features 15%40 app control40 app control
ENERGY STAR 10%100 ENERGY STAR certified100 ENERGY STAR certified
Weather rating 10%50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used)50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used)
Cable 10%100 25 ft cable100 30 ft cable
Warranty 10%100 5-year warranty50 warranty not published (neutral score used)

Specifications

ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40AApexCharger MACH 1 48A
Charging
Maximum power40 A (9.6 kW)48 A (11.5 kW)
Vehicle plugJ1772J1772
Cable length25 ft30 ft
InstallationPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portablePlug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50)
Smart features
Wi-FiYesYes
AppYesYes
Safety and build
ENERGY STARYesYes
Dimensions-10.35 x 6.72 x 3.15 in
Weight-15 lb
Warranty5 years-
Released2025-072024-09

All level 2 EV charger comparisons →