The Wi-Fi version of the Grizzl-E Classic, for buyers who want app scheduling and a choice of J1772 or Tesla plug for about $50 more.
Amazon $349.99The Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A and the ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A are evenly matched, rated 4.3 and 4.2. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A leads on smart features. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A wins on ENERGY STAR, value and warranty. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A costs $125.77 less ($224.22 vs $349.99).
A portable 40 A charger that doubles as a home unit, for drivers who want app control, a Tesla adapter and a long warranty in one travel bag.
Amazon $224.22Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A for smart features (app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing vs app control).
- Choose the ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A for ENERGY STAR (ENERGY STAR certified vs not ENERGY STAR certified), value ($224.22 vs $349.99) and warranty (5-year warranty vs 3-year warranty).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every up to 40 A level 2 EV charger; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A | ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 4.3/5 | 4.2/5 |
| Value 30% | 80 $349.99 | 100 $224.22 |
| Safety listing 15% | 100 listed: UL certified (UL file E510712) | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) |
| Smart features 15% | 100 app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing | 40 app control |
| ENERGY STAR 10% | 0 not ENERGY STAR certified | 100 ENERGY STAR certified |
| Weather rating 10% | 100 NEMA 4: rain, hose spray and dust | 50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used) |
| Cable 10% | 100 25 ft cable | 100 25 ft cable |
| Warranty 10% | 50 3-year warranty | 100 5-year warranty |
Specifications
| Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A | ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A | |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | ||
| Maximum power | 40 A (9.6 kW) | 40 A (9.6 kW) |
| Adjustable current | Yes | - |
| Vehicle plug | J1772 or Tesla (NACS) | J1772 |
| Cable length | 25 ft | 25 ft |
| Installation | Plug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50) | Plug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portable |
| Smart features | ||
| Wi-Fi | Yes | Yes |
| App | Yes | Yes |
| Off-peak scheduling | Yes | - |
| Load sharing | Yes | - |
| OCPP (third-party networks) | Yes | - |
| Safety and build | ||
| Safety listing | UL certified (UL file E510712) | - |
| ENERGY STAR | No | Yes |
| Weather rating | NEMA 4 | - |
| Lowest operating temperature | -22 °F | - |
| Dimensions | 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in | - |
| Weight | 21 lb | - |
| Warranty | 3 years | 5 years |
| Released | 2025-12 | 2025-07 |
