A portable 40 A charger that doubles as a home unit, for drivers who want app control, a Tesla adapter and a long warranty in one travel bag.
Amazon $224.22The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A is the better level 2 EV charger overall, rated 4.2 to 4.2. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A leads on smart features, warranty and value. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A costs $75.77 less ($224.22 vs $299.99).
A rugged, no-frills 40 A wall charger for drivers whose car already handles scheduling. It is the cheapest name-brand way to get full 40 A charging.
Amazon $299.99Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A for smart features (app control vs no app or scheduling), warranty (5-year warranty vs 3-year warranty) and value ($224.22 vs $299.99).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every up to 40 A level 2 EV charger; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A | Grizzl-E Classic 40A |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 4.2/5 | 4.2/5 |
| Value 30% | 100 $224.22 | 90 $299.99 |
| Safety listing 15% | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) | 100 listed: UL certified (UL file E510712) |
| Smart features 15% | 40 app control | 0 no app or scheduling |
| ENERGY STAR 10% | 100 ENERGY STAR certified | 100 ENERGY STAR certified |
| Weather rating 10% | 50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used) | 100 NEMA 4: rain, hose spray and dust |
| Cable 10% | 100 25 ft cable | 92 24 ft cable |
| Warranty 10% | 100 5-year warranty | 50 3-year warranty |
Specifications
| ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A | Grizzl-E Classic 40A | |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | ||
| Maximum power | 40 A (9.6 kW) | 40 A (9.6 kW) |
| Adjustable current | - | Yes |
| Vehicle plug | J1772 | J1772 |
| Cable length | 25 ft | 24 ft |
| Installation | Plug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portable | Plug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 6-50) |
| Smart features | ||
| Wi-Fi | Yes | No |
| App | Yes | No |
| Off-peak scheduling | - | No |
| Load sharing | - | No |
| OCPP (third-party networks) | - | No |
| Safety and build | ||
| Safety listing | - | UL certified (UL file E510712) |
| ENERGY STAR | Yes | Yes |
| Weather rating | - | NEMA 4 |
| Lowest operating temperature | - | -22 °F |
| Dimensions | - | 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in |
| Warranty | 5 years | 3 years |
| Released | 2025-07 | 2021-03 |
