A portable 40 A charger that doubles as a home unit, for drivers who want app control, a Tesla adapter and a long warranty in one travel bag.
Amazon $224.22The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A is the better level 2 EV charger overall, rated 4.2 to 3.4. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A leads on value, ENERGY STAR and warranty. The Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A wins on smart features. The ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A costs $675.77 less ($224.22 vs $899.99).
For two-EV households with only one 50 A circuit: it shares 40 A between two cables, so both cars are full by morning without a panel upgrade.
Amazon $899.99Prices were last checked October 31, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A for value ($224.22 vs $899.99), ENERGY STAR (ENERGY STAR certified vs not ENERGY STAR certified) and warranty (5-year warranty vs 3-year warranty).
- Choose the Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A for smart features (app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing vs app control).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every up to 40 A level 2 EV charger; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A | Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 4.2/5 | 3.4/5 |
| Value 30% | 100 $224.22 | 0 $899.99 |
| Safety listing 15% | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) | 100 listed: UL certified (UL file E510712) |
| Smart features 15% | 40 app control | 100 app control, off-peak scheduling, load sharing |
| ENERGY STAR 10% | 100 ENERGY STAR certified | 0 not ENERGY STAR certified |
| Weather rating 10% | 50 weather rating not stated (neutral score used) | 100 NEMA 4: rain, hose spray and dust |
| Cable 10% | 100 25 ft cable | 100 25 ft cable |
| Warranty 10% | 100 5-year warranty | 50 3-year warranty |
Specifications
| ApexCharger MACH 3 Portable 40A | Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A | |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | ||
| Maximum power | 40 A (9.6 kW) | 40 A (9.6 kW) |
| Adjustable current | - | Yes |
| Vehicle plug | J1772 | J1772 or Tesla (NACS) |
| Cable length | 25 ft | 25 ft |
| Installation | Plug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portable | Plug-in or hardwired (NEMA 14-50) |
| Smart features | ||
| Wi-Fi | Yes | Yes |
| App | Yes | Yes |
| Off-peak scheduling | - | Yes |
| Load sharing | - | Yes |
| OCPP (third-party networks) | - | Yes |
| Safety and build | ||
| Safety listing | - | UL certified (UL file E510712) |
| ENERGY STAR | Yes | No |
| Weather rating | - | NEMA 4 |
| Lowest operating temperature | - | -22 °F |
| Dimensions | - | 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in |
| Weight | - | 21 lb |
| Warranty | 5 years | 3 years |
| Released | 2025-07 | 2026-01 |
