A cheap travel charger that works on both 240 V NEMA 14-50 and ordinary 120 V outlets. Good as a second charger for road trips or for EVs that charge at 32 A or less.
Amazon $159.99The bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable is the better level 2 EV charger overall, rated 3.8 to 3.6. The bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable leads on smart features, cable and value. The Tesla Mobile Connector wins on ENERGY STAR. The bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable costs $140.01 less ($159.99 vs $300).
Tesla’s travel charger, for Tesla owners who want a backup or road-trip cord that also works at home on a 14-50 outlet. Check which adapters come in the box.
Tesla $300Prices were last checked October 22, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable for smart features (off-peak scheduling vs no app or scheduling), cable (25 ft cable vs 20 ft cable) and value ($159.99 vs $300).
- Choose the Tesla Mobile Connector for ENERGY STAR (ENERGY STAR certified vs not ENERGY STAR certified).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every up to 40 A level 2 EV charger; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable | Tesla Mobile Connector |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.8/5 | 3.6/5 |
| Value 30% | 100 $159.99 | 90 $300 |
| Safety listing 15% | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) | 50 safety listing not stated (neutral score used) |
| Smart features 15% | 30 off-peak scheduling | 0 no app or scheduling |
| ENERGY STAR 10% | 0 not ENERGY STAR certified | 100 ENERGY STAR certified |
| Weather rating 10% | 100 IP65: rain, hose spray and dust | 100 NEMA 4X: rain, hose spray and dust |
| Cable 10% | 100 25 ft cable | 62 20 ft cable |
| Warranty 10% | 25 2-year warranty | 0 1-year warranty |
Specifications
| bokman 32A Level 1 & 2 Portable | Tesla Mobile Connector | |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | ||
| Maximum power | 32 A (7.7 kW) | 32 A (7.7 kW) |
| Adjustable current | Yes | No |
| Vehicle plug | J1772 | Tesla (NACS) |
| Cable length | 25 ft | 20 ft |
| Installation | Plug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portable | Plug-in (NEMA 14-50, NEMA 5-15), portable |
| Smart features | ||
| Wi-Fi | No | No |
| App | No | No |
| Off-peak scheduling | Yes | No |
| Load sharing | No | No |
| OCPP (third-party networks) | No | - |
| Safety and build | ||
| ENERGY STAR | No | Yes |
| Weather rating | IP65 | NEMA 4X |
| Lowest operating temperature | -22 °F | -22 °F |
| Dimensions | - | 7.1 x 3.2 x 1.9 in |
| Weight | - | 5.2 lb |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 years |
