For kayak trolling motors, fish finders and small solar kits where weight matters more than runtime.
Amazon $209.99The LiTime 12V 50Ah is the better 12V lithium battery overall, rated 3.5 to 3.5. The LiTime 12V 50Ah leads on value. The Dakota Lithium 12V 54Ah wins on warranty and output. The LiTime 12V 50Ah costs $189.01 less ($209.99 vs $399).
For kayak anglers, ice fishing and small portable setups that need a light battery with a long warranty.
TackleDirect $399 BatteryMart $410Prices were last checked October 22, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the LiTime 12V 50Ah for value ($0.33 per rated Wh vs $0.58 per rated Wh).
- Choose the Dakota Lithium 12V 54Ah for warranty (11-year warranty vs 5-year warranty) and output (60 A continuous (about 770 W at 12.8 V) vs 50 A continuous (about 640 W at 12.8 V)).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every small 12V lithium battery; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | LiTime 12V 50Ah | Dakota Lithium 12V 54Ah |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.5/5 | 3.5/5 |
| Value 35% | 79 $0.33 per rated Wh | 50 $0.58 per rated Wh |
| Tested capacity 15% | 50 not yet independently tested (neutral score used) | 50 not yet independently tested (neutral score used) |
| Output 15% | 38 50 A continuous (about 640 W at 12.8 V) | 50 60 A continuous (about 770 W at 12.8 V) |
| Warranty 15% | 50 5-year warranty | 100 11-year warranty |
| Cycle life 10% | 50 4,000 cycles at 100% depth, maker rating | 33 3,000 cycles, maker rating |
| Cold weather 10% | 50 low-temperature charging protection not stated (neutral score used) | 50 low-temperature charging protection not stated (neutral score used) |
Specifications
| LiTime 12V 50Ah | Dakota Lithium 12V 54Ah | |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | ||
| Rated capacity | 50 Ah (640 Wh) | 54 Ah (691 Wh) |
| Nominal voltage | 12.8 V | 12.8 V |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 |
| Rated cycle life | 4,000 at 100% depth | 3,000 |
| Price per Wh | $0.33 | $0.58 |
| BMS | ||
| Continuous discharge | 50 A | 60 A |
| Peak discharge | - | 100 A for 10 s |
| Max charge current | - | 27 A |
| Series / parallel | - | up to 4 in series |
| Build | ||
| Case size | - | Group U1 |
| Dimensions | 6.54 x 7.68 x 6.77 in | 7.75 x 5.3 x 7.5 in |
| Weight | 11.6 lb | 14.3 lb |
| Terminals | M8 bolt | M6 |
| Water resistance | IP65 | - |
| Warranty | 5 years | 11 years |
