A rugged, weather-sealed 1.5kWh station for overlanding and outdoor work where rain and dust are part of the job.
Amazon $1,079 Jackery $1,079The Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra is the better portable power station overall, rated 3.7 to 3.2. The Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra leads on value, portability and charging speed. The Lion Energy Safari wins on AC output. The Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra costs $320 less ($1,079 vs $1,399).
For RV owners who want high 3,000W output, a TT-30 outlet and a five-year warranty from a US brand, and will pay more per watt-hour for it.
Lion Energy $1,399Prices were last checked October 24, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra for value ($0.70 per rated Wh vs $0.87 per rated Wh), portability (88 Wh per kg (38.6 lb (17.5 kg)) vs 62 Wh per kg (57.3 lb (26 kg))) and charging speed (0-100% on AC in 1 h 30 min vs 0-100% on AC in 2 h 18 min).
- Choose the Lion Energy Safari for AC output (3,000 W continuous AC vs 1,800 W continuous AC).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every large portable power station; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra | Lion Energy Safari |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.7/5 | 3.2/5 |
| Value 25% | 38 $0.70 per rated Wh | 13 $0.87 per rated Wh |
| Tested capacity 15% | 100 98% of rated capacity delivered (1 test) | 50 not yet independently tested (neutral score used) |
| Battery life 15% | 100 LiFePO4, 4,000 cycles, 5-year warranty | 96 LiFePO4, 3,500 cycles, 5-year warranty |
| AC output 15% | 21 1,800 W continuous AC | 79 3,000 W continuous AC |
| Charging speed 10% | 79 0-100% on AC in 1 h 30 min | 54 0-100% on AC in 2 h 18 min |
| Portability 10% | 78 88 Wh per kg (38.6 lb (17.5 kg)) | 31 62 Wh per kg (57.3 lb (26 kg)) |
| Solar input 5% | 44 800 W max solar input | 26 600 W max solar input |
| Features 5% | 75 UPS (20 ms), 100 W USB-C, app | 45 expandable, app |
Independent capacity tests
Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra
| Tested by | Usable AC energy | Of rated | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Solar Lab | - | 98% | Efficiency measured over several days of use (load not stated); the reviewer calls it the highest they have recorded. Measured AC recharge 0-100% in about 1 h 21 min. |
Lion Energy Safari
No independent test published yet.
Specifications
| Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra | Lion Energy Safari | |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | ||
| Rated capacity | 1,536 Wh | 1,612 Wh |
| Tested usable capacity | 1,505 Wh (98%) | - |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 |
| Cycle life | 4,000 to 70%+ | 3,500 3,500+ cycles at 100% DOD (manufacturer); remaining capacity at end of rating not stated |
| Expandable | No | Yes, up to 4,300 Wh |
| Output | ||
| AC output | 1,800 W (3,600 W surge) | 3,000 W (6,000 W surge) |
| AC outlets | 3 total | 5 total |
| 120V 20A outlets (NEMA 5-20R) | 3 | 4 |
| RV 30A outlet (TT-30R) | - | 1 |
| AC waveform | Pure sine wave | Pure sine wave |
| USB-C ports | 2 (up to 100 W each) | 2 (up to 60 W each) |
| USB-A ports | 1 | 2 |
| 12 V car outlet | Yes | Yes |
| DC5521 ports | 0 | 0 |
| UPS / pass-through | Yes (20 ms switchover) | - |
| Charging | ||
| AC charging | - | 800 W |
| Full AC charge time | 1 h 30 min (1.5 hr from a wall outlet) | 2 h 18 min (About 2.3 h from the wall (manufacturer); built-in AC charging cord) |
| Max solar input | 800 W | 600 W |
| Solar input voltage | 16-60V (DC8020, dual input) | 24-60V (over 36V Vmp), 25A MPPT |
| Car charging | 96 W | - |
| Build | ||
| Weight | 38.6 lb (17.5 kg) | 57.3 lb (26 kg) |
| Dimensions | 13.2 x 10.4 x 11.6 in | 20 x 13.3 x 13.3 in |
| App | Jackery app (WiFi/Bluetooth) | Lion Energy Smart app (Bluetooth) |
| Warranty | 5 years | 5 years |
| Released | 2026-01 | 2022-08 |
