A low-priced purifier for medium rooms up to about 350 sq ft. It has a sensor-driven auto mode, but filter costs add up if you follow KNKA’s replacement schedule.
Amazon $99.99The KNKA APH4000 is the better air purifier overall, rated 3.4 to 3.2. The KNKA APH4000 leads on value, auto mode and warranty. The Sharp FP-K50UW Plasmacluster wins on filter cost. The KNKA APH4000 costs $80 less ($99.99 vs $179.99).
A medium-room HEPA and carbon purifier with long-life filters, for buyers who prefer simple manual controls.
Amazon $179.99Prices were last checked October 22, 2026 and are subject to change; the price and availability shown by the retailer at the time of purchase apply.
Which should you buy?
- Choose the KNKA APH4000 for value ($0.44 per cfm of smoke CADR vs $1.08 per cfm of smoke CADR), auto mode (air quality (type not stated) sensor, auto mode vs no air-quality sensor or app) and warranty (2-year warranty vs 1-year warranty).
- Choose the Sharp FP-K50UW Plasmacluster for filter cost ($34.99 a year in filters vs $143.96 a year in filters).
Scores side by side
Each factor is scored 0-100 against the same fixed reference points for every medium rooms air purifier; a clear win is highlighted. How we rank explains each one.
| Factor weight | KNKA APH4000 | Sharp FP-K50UW Plasmacluster |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 3.4/5 | 3.2/5 |
| Value 25% | 100 $0.44 per cfm of smoke CADR | 55 $1.08 per cfm of smoke CADR |
| Filter cost 20% | 23 $143.96 a year in filters | 84 $34.99 a year in filters |
| Quiet 20% | 50 noise at top speed not published (neutral score used) | 50 noise at top speed not published (neutral score used) |
| Efficiency 15% | 29 4.3 cfm per watt | 50 efficiency not certified (neutral score used) |
| Auto mode 10% | 70 air quality (type not stated) sensor, auto mode | 0 no air-quality sensor or app |
| Warranty 10% | 25 2-year warranty | 0 1-year warranty |
Specifications
| KNKA APH4000 | Sharp FP-K50UW Plasmacluster | |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | ||
| Smoke CADR | 226 cfm | 167 cfm |
| Dust CADR | 226 cfm | 171 cfm |
| Pollen CADR | 244 cfm | 188 cfm |
| PM2.5 CADR | 226 cfm | - |
| CADR certified by | AHAM Verifide | AHAM Verifide |
| Room size (AHAM) | 350 sq ft | 259 sq ft |
| Coverage (maker) | 1,695 sq ft | 1,253 sq ft |
| Noise | 22 dB | 23 dB |
| Efficiency | ||
| Efficiency (IEF) | 4.3 cfm/W | - |
| ENERGY STAR | No | No |
| Energy use | 304 kWh/year | - |
| Filters | ||
| Filter | HEPA-type | True HEPA with separate activated carbon filter and washable pre-filter |
| Activated carbon | Yes | Yes |
| Replacement | APH4000LX | FZ-K50HFU (HEPA) |
| Replacement cost | $35.99 every 3 months | $69.99 every 24 months |
| Yearly filter cost | $143.96/year | $34.99/year |
| Ionizer | - | Yes |
| CARB certified (ozone) | Yes | Yes |
| Controls and build | ||
| Air-quality sensor | air quality (type not stated) | None |
| Auto mode | Yes | No |
| Wi-Fi app | No | No |
| Fan speeds | 4 | 3 |
| Dimensions | 17.09 x 12.36 x 8.15 in | 21.3 x 15.1 x 8.2 in |
| Weight | 9.7 lb | 11 lb |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 years |
